Book Review: The Royal Dragoneers

The Royal Dragoneers (The Dragoneers Saga #1)The Royal Dragoneers by M.R. Mathias

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

It took me a while to read this novel, and it wasn’t because it was bad. It was long. If it had been a regular, printed copy that I was reading, I would have been done a lot sooner, but because it was on my Kindle, it took me a while longer to read it.

It was a very good novel. The story was believable and gripping. The characters felt real, and I found myself wanting to know more about them and caring about what happened to them.

The only issue I honestly found was that I felt like there were too many characters to follow. Near the end of the book, I had to go back a few times and search for the names of the people in the scene so I could figure out who I seeing the story through. I think that if it had been limited to Zah, Jenka, and Rikky, the story would have been easier for me to follow. Even the Prince’s point-of-view would have been expected.

The moment the story jumped into the point-of-view of Linux, I found myself overwhelmed and not really sure where I was in the timeline because it was jumping characters so much and jumping back and forth through the timeline a lot. Something just happened in the previous character’s point-of-view, then the next point-of-view that is introduced may be telling about actions that occurred twenty minutes or as much as an hour before. It got a little confusing.

Otherwise, it was an epic story. Great read.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

