The Storm Has Passed

I know it has been two (?) weeks since I have really updated this blog with something besides book reviews. It has been a hell of a two weeks. My oldest bought home the cold plague from school, and it has been running rampant through this household. Even with four kids, I prefer sicknesses (if they have to hit) to hit all four at once and just get it over with, but this one hit Anna, then Sammy, and while it lingered in my poor asthmatic’s lungs, it passed itself on to my husband, Seth, and Ian. So far, I have only had a slightly runny nose, which is fortunate because I’ve been taking care of everyone. Writing has not been happening, at least not as much as I have wanted it to.

I managed to get the ten-chapter layouts outlined for the final two novellas of The Beast Within trilogy. It’s not a lot, but at least I know what is happened, when it’s happening, and why it is happening, and I also know what it causes to happen.

That being said, my word counts for the last two weeks are abysmally low, but at least I wrote something.

  • 8/30: 800 words written
  • 8/31: 498 words written
  • 9/1: 150 words written
  • 9/2: 450 words written
  • 9/3: 375 words written
  • 9/4: 550 words written
  • 9/5: 3200 words written
  • 9/6: 730 words written
  • 9/7: 210 words written
  • 9/8: 0 words written
  • 9/9: 0 words written
  • 9/10: 150 words written
  • 9/11: 570 words written

The last two weeks were not a total loss, but there were a couple of days where I did nothing but pump albuterol into Sammy and Ian every two hours to relieve their asthma issues. September 5th was a good day. It was when the eye of the storm passed over–no one was so sick that a little sleep did not fix the issue, so I was able to get a bit more done.

All-in-all, I plotted the three acts, turning points, and midpoints for To Tame the Beast, The Beast Within, Lost, Survival, Brave New World, Mists of Solace: Book 1, and Mists of Solace: Book 2. And I wrote up a ten-chapter layout for To Tame the Beast and The Beast Within. The rest of the writing was journal entries just to get my brain to settle down enough that I could rest inbetween taking care of the kids.

There were also a few days where I sketched out maps, so progress was made. With almost everyone well now (with the exception of my husband and Ian), I’m hoping that my writing will begin to pick up again. I know that my readers on Wattpad will be pleased.

Leave a Reply

