Book Review: Jenny Pox

Jenny Pox (The Paranormals, #1)Jenny Pox by J.L. Bryan

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

It took me a while to get through this book, and it’s not because it’s poorly written or boring. It’s anything but. The storyline is great, and fantastical. And it’s very well done. What kept me from reading this quickly was the protagonist.

Jenny and Seth were very well-rounded. They had their good, they had their bad, and you got to see it all. Ashleigh was just a flat witch. She may have come across as good to all the other people in the book, but as a reader, she was just wicked to the core, which is what she was supposed to be. But after reading half the book and having to force myself through her sappy “I’m so perfect” drivel while her thoughts were the exact opposite of everything she did and said, I had to take breaks regularly.

I think that if Ashleigh had had even one redeeming quality, the book would have been better for me, but alas, she didn’t, so I had to be happy with the parts that involved Jenny and Seth.

Overall, the plot and history behind the story were very good and very creative and most of the characters were quality characters. I would suggest this read to others, but I would tell them to push themselves through Ashleigh’s part because the rest of the book is worth it.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

