Book Review: Glimpse

Glimpse (Zellie Wells, #1)Glimpse by Stacey Wallace Benefiel

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This one took me a bit to get into. The reason why it was so hard is because of how the main characters were portrayed for the first half of the book. The two main characters are sixteen year old girls who are best friends. That part was fine. But the author chose to make them into blathering idiots girls–you know, the ones that speak only sentences that involve “Like,” “As if!” and “O-M-G.” And after half the book of that, it took everything I had to push forward to the end because to me, it really could not get any worse.

But push on, I did, and after the big moment where her normal life comes crashing down, it did get better. In fact, she grew up a lot and all the “like,” “as if!’s” and “O-M-G’s” disappeared. After that, the story was a great read. The quick-forgiveness wrap-up after she came back home was a little hard for me to roll with, but I managed. It felt like the author was just trying to wrap things up to end the book as fast as possible.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

