Stats: May Word Count Close-Out

2016-06-02

I will be honest.  May feels like I just stepped off a rollercoaster ride.  I had several really good writing days and several abysmal writing days, but I did at least write something every day, even if it was only a few hundred words.

Over the course of May, I finished editing three writing prompt collections — The Daily Prompt: 2016 Mystery Edition, The Daily Prompt: 2016 Horror Edition, and The Daily Prompt: 2017.  On many of the days where words just would not come to me, I formatted the files for the three editions of each of these books that I release — Kindle Edition, Smashwords Edition, and the Paperback Edition.  So, my brain is pretty much fried from formatting all of those through three different sets of rules and requirements for publishing through each of the individual sites.

I also began the first major rewrite of an upcoming science fiction/fantasy novel, Beyond the Gray Wastes.  This novel covers the mental and physical journey of a man as he and his family walk away from all the is familiar to journey into the wilds beyond their desert home in search of an “abundance of water,” as the story that has been passed down in his family for generations calls it.  But he and his family are not alone.  His best friend and his family are with them, along with two older brothers.  Every one of them is looked down upon in their tribe for their difference in opinion, so each and every one of them are journeying in hopes of finding a new and better life.

Another project started in May was the penning of the first draft of All That Was Lost.  This is more of a Women’s Literature piece, which is a bit outside my comfort zone, but it has been calling out for me to write it for some time.  Before the story opens, our main character, Valerie, has suffered a stillbirth and an emergency kidney transplant that left her hospitalized for a long time.  The story opens several months later.  She is still recuperating, recovering from both the loss of her baby and the slow healing process that comes with a diabetic lifestyle, and she is trying to save what is left of her marriage.  But she is faced with a realization and a decision that she never wanted to make, but for her own happiness, she must make it.

And, if you look at the chart above, you will see a blip of orange there at the end of the month.  Yes, a book idea hit me, and it hit me hard.  After I finish proofing these three paperbacks for The Daily Prompt series, I am planning to sit down and start writing up chapter outlines for that book idea and see if anything comes to fruition.  I won’t make any promises, though, because it is a very generalized idea.

So, May was a bit crazy.  I’m hoping that June is just as fruitful, but I know that my numbers will be lower as the canning and freezing season is upon us here on the farm, and I will have many days where all of my writing takes place while I am waiting for the waterbath canner or pressure canner to process my jars of food.

How was your month?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. vickgoodwin
    Jun 02, 2016 @ 09:07:21

    Your month looks great! I struggled with a sick dog and the worry about her caused me to get sick and stop writing. Isn’t that insane? But it happened. I only blogged a small amount after the 18th. I love your progress! You are on a roll! I hope your new book idea really comes through!
    As always I love seeing your chart. Happy writing and canning in June!

    Like

    Reply

    • J. C. Cauthon
      Jun 02, 2016 @ 16:02:42

      If you are like me, your fur-babies are just as important as your real kids. I get antsy when my animals don’t show up to eat or start acting “off.” I’m surprised my end of the month numbers are as high as they are. I lost Lala and Fox in Sox this month (two adult cats), and I still have four kittens that have been MIA since the 13th. Mom moved them away from the farm, but she hasn’t led me to them yet nor have they shown up to eat, which they should have almost a week ago. It does get better, though. I’ve been enjoying reading your Daily Prompt responses!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

      • vickgoodwin
        Jun 02, 2016 @ 16:16:00

        Arrow is my girl. She is the daughter that will not grow up and leave me to marry a man in another state! She is 9 and I was so worried. I can only imagine how stressed you are about the cats and the kittens. I hope they show up soon. I love your prompts. Today I have been writing a little more, so perhaps I will be able to find a daily prompt story deep inside. When I got sick several years ago, I lost the ability to write. My head was empty. I missed it so much. I couldn’t even read. It was like being dead while alive. Since November I have been writing and I started with reviews. I can’t bear the thought of not writing again so soon. Thank you for saying that about the responses. I love your prompts. TMI I know lol

        Like

      • J. C. Cauthon
        Jun 02, 2016 @ 22:08:12

        I think I am sitting at 31-ish cats and kittens right now. All outside cats, but we are farmers so cats are to be expected. They all have names. I know them and the kids can tell you most of the names, but my husband gave up about two generations of cats ago.

        I know all about losing the ability to write. When I worked at the local university keying in the information from Freshman apps, I was a walking zombie by the time I got home. I couldn’t even cook most days, so writing was definitely out of the question. I started back by writing fan fiction. It wasn’t great but it got me going again.

        Liked by 1 person

      • vickgoodwin
        Jun 02, 2016 @ 22:13:57

        I am glad you got past it and look how prolific you are now! I will be back soon I just feel it!
        31 cats and kittens! It is a great thing you have a farm!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

