Weekly Update: February 26 through March 5

To say that it has been “one of those weeks” would be an understatement.  I have been busy, and I have been coming to a slow realization.

I am not ready to write full-length novels yet.

Don’t get me wrong.  I can throw down 50,000 words in a document in a heartbeat, and I daresay, I can probably throw 100,000 down on the same topic if I tried.  And it would tell a story–just not a very well-written one.  And I apparently don’t have the skills yet to get it from “mind vomit” draft to “well-written draft.”  I’ve been trying since January 1 with The Seer’s Vision, and it’s just not happening for me.  So, I have decided to take my two novel-length projects off the schedule this year and spend a bit more time sharpening my skills on novellas, novelettes, and short stories.  (Who knows, maybe I’ll figure it out before the middle of the year and have the time to squeeze The Seer’s Vision in before the end of the year.)

This week, I have been editing.  And it has been hard.  All the kids have been going through rounds of colds and coughs over the last month, and I’ve had two on the outs with it this week.  I am still plugging on.  I set a tentative release date for The Disappearance of Ray Delgado on March 7.  I’m still aiming for that day, but in all honesty, it may the day or so after at the rate I am moving forward.  I will have it available before Friday night, though.  I am going to be ticking things off the list today as soon as I get this post finished up and posted.

Since I will be closing out The Disappearance of Ray Delgado this week with its publication, I have been brainstorming on my next project.  And so far, I am having a blast with it.  It still doesn’t have a title, but I know that it will be a tween/middle grades story, and it will be a fantasy.  I started drawing up maps last night and setting up the workbook for it.

Those are the only two projects I am working on this week.  I may try to give The Seer’s Vision another one- or twice-over to see if I can get some new ideas on what to do with it.  I want to finish that book, but it is just being difficult.

Here’s to writing!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Matters of Living
    Mar 05, 2017 @ 10:33:44

    I always wanted to be a writer and I could not get the mind vomit part right. many of my ideas were lost. I see lots of wonderful prompts on your site to help other writers with that. good luck with all your projects

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. beaconsoflife
    Mar 05, 2017 @ 10:34:01

    Good to know your limits for now.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. Austin Conrad
    Mar 09, 2017 @ 04:59:56

    I’m at a similar spot (although I’ve spent far less time at it than you have), and my gut reaction is that the editing of “mind vomit” (great phrase, and describes my own WIP’s first draft quite well) just needs to keep getting wrestled with. Perhaps it’s just due to my indifference to short fiction, but I feel like the challenges associated with editing a novel are very different to the challenges of editing a short story, novella, etc.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • J. C. Cauthon
      Mar 09, 2017 @ 05:04:50

      I am finding in this current draft I am editing that the “mind vomit” did get less messy as I got into the grooveof the story. Chapters 1-8 were in dire need of help, but 9-13 seem to be almost spot on. They just need a little more action and description between the dialogue.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

