Weekly Update: May 21 through May 27

I have been having a lot of trouble lately with getting the fires lit to write.  I have the time. I just can’t seem to find the focus.  And I know that if I don’t get anything done before June 9, I won’t get anything done again until August 23rd or so.  That’s when I will have all the kids home from school and the interruptions will increase four-fold.

I forced myself to work on Pangaea this week.  The fire to write it is still lit, but my attention kept getting easily diverted.  I wasn’t even able to edit a fifteen hundred word short story this week.  It was that bad.

It’s still lingering today.  I am trying to get stuff done, but most of my word count may end up being journal writing today.  If I can at least get the ideas down on paper, I can come back to them later when my brain isn’t mush.

This week, I am supposed to be editing The Siren’s Song.  It’s a fantasy story, so I might be able to get behind that one and get it finished.  Trenches is a historical fiction, and they are a bit harder for me to work through because I have to tell the story and still get my realistic facts straight.  We shall see.  If I get those edits done soon enough, I will attempt to bring my focus back to Pangaea and see if I can get some of the episodes planned out for the first season.

That is all for now.  I hope everyone else’s writing week has been much better than mine.

Leave a Reply

