Book Review: Mail Order Mayhem


Mail Order Mayhem by Kirsten Osbourne

My rating: 3 out of 5 stars

For a more sensual romance novella, this book was pretty good. There were no bodice-ripping, explicit sex scenes, and the only real sex scene was the wedding night, which was sensual and loving. Other than the wedding night scene, this could be considered a Christian Romance novella.

However, I feel that the author could have put more time into this piece and made it into a novel. If she had spent more time building on the characters, they would have felt more rounded. Maude, as the teller of the story for the most part, is probably the roundest character. She has a full spectrum of feelings, emotions, and characteristics.

The former groom-to-be is just plain nasty. I’ve read this piece many times, and I still haven’t found one redeeming quality for him, and your protagonist really needs one thing to make the readers see his/her side. I can’t even begin to sympathize with him.

Her groom fell a little flat as well. He’s a homesteader, and he’s kind and he loves her, but that’s about the best I can really give him.

I really do feel that if Ms. Osbourne has spent more time developing the characters and adding more dialogue and such, this novella could have been so much more. Granted, the story is still a good one, and I’ll be honest in saying that I have most of the series, but they are simply quick reads for me when I need a break and just want to pick something up and read.

Save

Leave a Reply

